Nicolet FEAR has been honored with various awards through FIRST®. For more information on these awards, please visit the FIRST® website.

Engineering Inspiration Award


Celebrates outstanding success in advancing respect and appreciation for engineering within a team’s school of organization and community.

2022 Wisconsin Regional
2023 Northern Lights Regional


Woodie Flowers Finalist Award


This award recognizes an individual mentor who has done an outstanding job of motivation through communication while also challenging the students to be clear and succinct in their communications

Todd Gaulke – 2022 Northern Lights Regional


Excellence in Engineering Award


Celebrates the team that demonstrates a professional approach to the design process.

2022 Northern Lights Regional


Team Sustainability Award sponsored by Dow


Celebrates and recognizes a team which has developed sustainable practices to have a positive environmental impact and achieve long-term continuity.

2023 Wisconsin Regional


Team Spirit Award sponsored by FCA Foundation

Celebrates extraordinary enthusiasm and spirit through exceptional partnership and teamwork furthering the objectives of FIRST.


2018 Wisconsin Regional

2019 Heartland Regional



Imagery Award in honor of Jack Kamen

In honor of Jack Kamen, Dean’s father, for his dedication to art and illustration and his devotion to FIRST. This award celebrates design in engineering and outstanding visual aesthetic integration of machine and team appearance.


2017 Northern Lights Regional

2017 Wisconsin Regional





Entrepreneurship Award sponsored by Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers

Celebrates the entrepreneurial spirit by recognizing a team that has developed the framework for a comprehensive business plan to scope, manage, and achieve team objectives in a professional manner.


2016 Northern Lights Regional

2018 Heartland Regional

2019 Seven Rivers Regional

Regional Finalist

This award celebrates the alliance that makes it to the Final Match of the Competition, and the outstanding performance, hard work, and dedication put into the Competition by each team and their students.

2015 Northern Lights Regional

2018 Wisconsin Regional


Industrial Safety Award sponsored by Underwriters Laboratories

Celebrates the team that progresses above and beyond safety fundamentals by using innovative ways to eliminate or protect against hazards in both the lab and the pit.

2015 Northern Lights Regional

2018 Heartland Regional



FIRST Dean’s List Finalist

The Dean’s List Award began in 2010 to celebrate outstanding student leaders whose passion for and effectiveness at attaining FIRST ideals is exemplary. Students such as Chris Welker and Louisa Wood who earn FIRST Dean’s List Award status are great examples of student leaders who have led their teams and communities to increased awareness for FIRST and its mission all the while achieving personal technical expertise and accomplishment.


Chris Welker – 2014 Wisconsin Regional

Louisa Wood – 2020 Wisconsin Regional